Sunday, March 26, 2023

Buy now

After victory over Punjab Kings, KKR sit on THIS spot

- Advertisement -

After taking part in three matches of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) presently occupy the highest spot with two wins and a loss.

The purple and gold aspect accomplished a snug victory over Punjab Kings (PBKS) in Match eight of the IPL 2022 on the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The Punjab outfit was fully dominated as KKR simply chased down the goal with 5.3 overs to spare.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa got here out all weapons blazing and scored 31 runs in simply 9 balls, however the southpaw was despatched again by Shivam Mavi with Punjab at 43/2 in 3.5 overs. Shikhar Dhawan (16 off 15 balls) too couldn’t keep for lengthy and shortly after there was a batting collapse. A late end from South African pacer Kagiso Rabada (25 off 16 balls) had helped Punjab submit a complete of 137/10 in 18.2 overs.  Specific pacer Umesh Yadav scalped 4 wickets and gave away simply 23 runs in his four-over quota.

READ | IPL 2022: Suhana Khan, Ananya Panday root for KKR at Wankhede Stadium, netizens react

Coming in to chase, KKR had a poor begin as regardless of making 50+ throughout the discipline restrictions, they misplaced 4 essential wickets – Ajinkya Rahane (12 off 11 balls), Venkatesh Iyer (3 off 7 balls), Shreyas Iyer (26 off 15 balls) and Nitish Rana (0 off 2 balls). Nonetheless, Sam Billings (24 off 23 balls) and all-rounder Andre Russell (70 off 31 balls) took the cost and made a mockery of Punjab’s bowling unit. 

With the victory whereas KKR sits atop the desk, Punjab strikes to the seventh spot. The second place is occupied by Rajasthan Royals (RR) who shall be taking part in their subsequent recreation on April 2 in opposition to Mumbai Indians (MI) who’re presently on the ninth spot.

READ | WATCH: Andre Russell’s boundary to achieve 50 nearly hits umpire, netizens get pleasure from Muscle Man’s present

Delhi Capitals (DC) are positioned third whereas Gujarat Titans (GT) sit within the fourth spot. Lucknow Tremendous Giants (LSG) with a victory over Chennai Tremendous Kings (CSK) sit in fifth place whereas the latter aspect is positioned within the eighth spot.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are within the sixth place and the final place is held by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), who had confronted a crushing defeat of their very first recreation.

Present record of Orange Cap and Purple Cap holders:

Orange Cap holder: Andre Russell (KKR) – 95 runs

Purple Cap holder: Umesh Yadav (KKR) – 8 wickets

IPL 2022 format:

This yr, the IPL has two new groups, with all franchises having modified their squads and even a unique format. Nonetheless, this is not going to essentially impression the factors system. This yr the format will see 10 groups being break up into two teams – Group A and B.

Group A – Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Tremendous Giants

Group B – Chennai Tremendous Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings, Gujarat Titans

Supply hyperlink

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles